Posted by: naumannnews | March 6, 2011

Different frame of references

I sat in the sofa next to a new guy that has started to come to our Church. He has a pretty rough background having spent some time in prison and so on. We talked about sports and exercising, he is really fit and goes to the gym every day, I on the other hand is overweight and need to do some exercise. As our conversation developed I told him I was somewhat scared to do certain exercises due to a cut on my stomach. As I said this his spontaneous response was. Who cut you? The doctor I said. Then we looked at one another and started to laugh, in his world a cut on the stomach would have nothing to do with a doctor and in my world a cut on the stomach would have everything to do with a doctor. Man we laughed hard as the reality of our different frames of references dawned on us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

